Media |

IAVA Celebrates Bipartisan House Passage of the Honoring Our PACT Act

IAVA’s top priority for the 117th Congress passed the House with strong bipartisan support

March 4, 2022

Washington, DC Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America (IAVA) celebrates the passage of the Honoring our Promise to Address Comprehensive Toxics Act (Honoring Our PACT Act) (H.R. 3967) out of the House with a final vote of 256-174 and expresses our profound appreciation for Members who upheld their responsibility to care for those who have borne the battle. IAVA calls on the Senate to complete action on comprehensive legislation and send it to the President’s desk without delay.

This legislation will help the many thousands of veterans suffering from military toxic exposures, such as burn pits, who have inadequate access to VA benefits. It is comprehensive legislation that will address the needs of veterans that are suffering from toxic exposure by ensuring that they have the healthcare and benefits that they deserve. This legislation is supported by the White House and over 40 VSOs, who also called on the House to pass the PACT Act in advance of the vote.

“Half measures and anything short of comprehensive toxic exposure legislation would leave this issue unresolved, leave countless veterans responsible for continuing to fight their government for what they were promised, and leave a gaping self-inflicted wound to continue to kill those who served their country,” said IAVA CEO Jeremy Butler. “We must ensure that veterans finally see comprehensive legislation enacted that addresses the most widespread injuries of the post-9/11 wars. Congress should act expeditiously to enact the Honoring Our PACT Act now.”

Below is a list of the Members of the House of Representatives who voted NO on this widely supported legislation:


Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Mo Brooks (R-AL), Jerry Carl (R-AL), Barry Moore (R-AL), Gary Palmer (R-AL), Mike Rogers (R-AL)


David Schweikert (R-AZ), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), Paul A. Gosar (R-AZ), Andy Biggs (R-AZ)


Rick Crawford (R-AR), French Hill (R-AR), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Steve Womack (R-AR)


Ken Calvert (R-CA), Darrell Issa (R-CA), Young Kim (R-CA), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), Tom McClintock (R-CA), Michelle Steel (R-CA)


Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Ken Buck (R-CO), Doug Lamborn (R-CO)


Vern Buchanan (R-FL), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Byron Donalds (R-FL), ​​Neal Dunn (R-FL), Scott Franklin (R-FL), Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), John Rutherford (R-FL), Maria Elvira Salazar (R-FL), Gregory Steube (R-FL), Michael Waltz (R-FL), Daniel Webster (R-FL)


Rick Allen (R-GA), Buddy Carter (R-GA), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Drew Ferguson (R-GA), Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA), Jody Hice (R-GA), Barry Loudermilk (R-GA), Austin Scott (R-GA)


Russ Fulcher (R-ID), Michael Simpson (R-ID)


Rodney Davis (R-IL), Darin LaHood (R-IL), Mary Miller (R-IL)


James Baird (R-IN), Jim Banks (R-IN), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Trey Hollingsworth (R-IN), Greg Pence (R-IN), Victoria Spartz (R-IN), Jackie Walorski (R-IN)


Randy Feenstra (R-IA), Ashley Hinson (R-IA), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA)


Ron Estes (R-KS), Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Tracey Mann (R-KS)


Andy Barr (R-KY), James Comer (R-KY), Brett Guthrie (R-KY), ​​Harold Rogers (R-KY)


Garret Graves (R-LA), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Mike Johnson (R-LA), Julia Letlow (R-LA), Steve Scalise (R-LA)


Andy Harris (R-MD)


Bill Huizenga (R-MI), John Moolenaar (R-MI), Tim Walberg (R-MI)


Pete Stauber (R-MN), Michelle Fischbach (R-MN), Tom Emmer (R-MN)


Michael Guest (R-MS), Trent Kelly (R-MS), Steven Palazzo (R-MS)


Sam Graves (R-MO), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Billy Long (R-MO), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Jason Smith (R-MO), Ann Wagner (R-MO)


Matt Rosendale (R-MT)


Don Bacon (R-NE), Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE), Adrian Smith (R-NE)


Mark Amodei (R-NV)

New Jersey:

Jefferson Van Drew (R-NJ)

New Mexico:

Yvette Herrell (R-NM)

New York:

Chris Jacobs (R-NY), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Claudia Tenney (R-NY), Lee Zeldin (R-NY)

North Carolina:

Dan Bishop (R-NC), Ted Budd (R-NC), Madison Cawthorn (R-NC), Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Patrick McHenry (R-NC), David Rouzer (R-NC)

North Dakota:

Kelly Armstrong (R-ND)


Troy Balderson (R-OH), Steve Chabot (R-OH), Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH), Jim Jordan (R-OH), Robert Latta (R-OH), Michael Turner (R-OH), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)


Tom Cole (R-OK), Kevin Hern (R-OK), Frank Lucas (R-OK), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)


Cliff Bentz (R-OR)


Fred Keller (R-PA), Mike Kelly (R-PA), Daniel Meuser (R-PA), Scott Perry (R-PA), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Lloyd Smucker (R-PA), Glenn Thompson (R-PA)

South Carolina:

Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Tom Rice (R-SC), William Timmons (R-SC), Joe Wilson (R-SC)

South Dakota:

Dusty Johnson (R-SD)


Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), Mark Green (R-TN), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), David Kustoff (R-TN), John Rose (R-TN)


Jodey Arrington (R-TX), Brian Babin (R-TX), Michael Burgess (R-TX), John Carter (R-TX), Michael Cloud (R-TX), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX), Jake Ellzey (R-TX), Pat Fallon (R-TX), Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Lance Gooden (R-TX), Kay Granger (R-TX), Ronny Jackson (R-TX), Michael McCaul (R-TX), Troy Nehls (R-TX), August Pfluger (R-TX), Chip Roy (R-TX), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Beth Van Duyne (R-TX), Randy Weber (R-TX), Roger Williams (R-TX)


John Curtis (R-UT), Blake Moore (R-UT), Burgess Owens (R-UT), Chris Stewart (R-UT)


Bob Good (R-VA), Morgan Griffith (R-VA), Robert Wittman (R-VA)


Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)

West Virginia:

Carol Miller (R-WV), Alex Mooney (R-WV)


Scott Fitzgerald (R-WI), Mike Gallagher (R-WI), Glenn Grothman (R-WI), Bryan Steil (R-WI), Thomas Tiffany (R-WI)


Liz Cheney (R-WY)

The following Representatives did not vote:

Mike Bost (R-IL), Van Taylor (R-TX), Kevin Brady (R-TX)

IAVA is the voice for the post-9/11 veteran generation. With over 425,000 veterans and allies nationwide, IAVA is the leader in non-partisan veteran advocacy and public awareness. We drive historic impacts for veterans, and IAVA’s programs are second to none. Any veteran or family member in need can reach out to IAVA’s Quick Reaction Force at or 855-91RAPID (855-917-2743) to be connected promptly with a veteran care manager who will assist. IAVA’s The Vote Hub is a free tool to register to vote and find polling information. IAVA’s membership is always growing. Join the movement at


Media |


Our country has an obligation to fulfill its promise to honor and support vets. Make a donation today to help IAVA fulfill its mission to connect, unite, and empower post-9/11 veterans.

Charity Navigator Four-Star RatingExcellence in GivingCharityStateRegistration.orgGuidestarAmerica's Best